Archive | January 2014

Kolb’s Experiential Learning Cycle


Experiential Learning (Kolb)

Building upon earlier work by John Dewey and Kurt Levin, American educational theorist David A. Kolb believes “learning is the process whereby knowledge is created through the transformation of experience” (1984, p. 38). The theory presents a cyclical model of learning, consisting of four stages shown below. One may begin at any stage, but must follow each other in the sequence:
•concrete experience (or “DO”)
•reflective observation (or “OBSERVE”)
•abstract conceptualization (or “THINK”)
•active experimentation (or “PLAN”)