Bridging the Generational Tech Gap

http://chronicle.com/article/Bridging-the-Generational-Tech/128304/

This is a great article, especially for myself. As a 40(something) year old carpenter that has been stuck “on the tools” for over 20 years, I have little-to-no experience with any of the new technologies that instructors use today. Taking the PIDP courses has opened my eyes to the fact that regardless of my background, as an instructor I will need to play “catch up” when it comes to technologies. Social media, email, powerpoint presentations, online videos, I need to take the time to learn it all. Not just because there are younger people who may become more qualified, but because it is the way of the world. There is no escaping it! And the fact of the matter is, I want to learn more and be able to utilize more technology in my classroom. I feel that there is a lot of good that can come from incorporating new techniques into my classroom.
So I think I will start with the basics. Typing class. No more “two-finger” typing for me. It takes forever!

Leave a Reply

